Tags

,

So I am shopping bookcases online and suddenly – POW!

A twinge, pinch, heaviness in my gut…Oops, I recognize that! It is anxiety making its way into my heart.

Just like AA’s 12 steps, recognition is the first step to freedom. I love how God can use the simplest of things to reveal some of the sizable weapons the enemy will try to wield against us.

Learning to identify our feelings in the simple moments gives us the power of choice later on when the enemy tries to move in and influence us on the heavier and weightier matters of life!

The enemy is taunting me with doubt and worry – fearing that I will regret my decision. For me it is ‘shoppers remorse’ before I ever even make the purchase, some might call it ‘analysis paralysis’. Any way you look at it, it is fear wrapped in the disguise that by not choosing I am somehow pleasing God and waiting until just the right time.

Let’s look at this from a different perspective. When I determine to walk by faith and not allow anxiety to rule I know that alone brings pleasure to my Father, because without faith it is impossible to please Him. (Heb 11:6)

“Faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things unseen. For by it the elders obtained a good testimony… But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.” Hebrews 11:1 – 2, 6

Man, those ‘elders’, as the word calls them, sure made a mess of their lives…they got drunk and lay naked (Noah), they offered their wives to other men (yes, Abraham called Sarah his sister and twice she went to live with other men), they killed their countrymen (Moses) and the list goes on and on. AND YET… because of Abraham’s faith, God counted him as righteous. Heb 11:39 says it this way about all of them, “And all these, having obtained a good testimony through faith…”

We have the money, it is on our list of things to purchase, it is a style I like and will enjoy in my home.

So really, why the anxiety? Because the enemy knows if he can get me here then he can hold me captive later on as well.

It is time for me to take that step of faith, make the deal and enjoy the fruit of some hard work, not allowing the anxiety or fear that tries to rise up have the final say.  It’s time to get that stack of books onto some new shelves. It is time to put my faith on and go forward.

God will stop me if I am in the wrong, but He will do it without fear, worry or anxiety, He will do it with a gentle reminder that He has something even greater right around the corner.

Is there a lump in your throat, that sinking feeling in your stomach? Learning to identify the symptoms of anxiety can be key in helping you to take the first step…recognize it for what it is and begin to apply your faith, every small step of faith pleases the Father and sets us free!!

