Tags

, ,

I love November!! I love how we begin the holiday season by setting aside time to express our gratitude for the wonderful blessings in our lives. When November rolls around many of us begin to declare the many wonders we are thankful for, myself included. These things are sweet reminders of the blessings, love and mercies of The Lord.

I Thessalonians 5:16-18 tells us, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

“In EVERYTHING give thanks,” that includes all the blessings, goodness and kind things in my life. But everything has a bigger scope than those things I find to be wonderful or pleasing. This also includes those things I find offensive or a bit to complicated for my life. Today, I am reminded to give thanks in EVERYTHING and even though these things don’t seem like they are the warm and fuzzies, they are things I will choose to be grateful for and look for God’s purpose in my life.

1. Weakness – in weakness, He can be strong.
2. Trials – they produce patience in my life.
3. Hardship – it trains me to be an overcomer and not a victim.
4. Our Government – it calls me to prayer.
5. Parenting challenges and marriage rifts – because they empower me to die to myself and to let Him shine through me.

I will admit these are not easy things for me to be grateful for. As a matter of fact, sometimes I am anything but grateful. Many times when I am faced with hardship I want to whine and cry out “why me?”. Or asked to walk out a difficulty in my marriage I want to let selfishness rule and not die to my own thoughts or feelings. But in the end these things only tie me to this world and do not allow me to learn to soar and grow in the grace of my God.

Today, I am grateful God sees fit to remind me gratitude moves me past my understanding and into His purposes so I am able to soar in the fullness of His love.

20121118-165309.jpg

