“Where can I go from Your Spirit?
         Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
         If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.

If I stood at the gates of Hell could I find God? Would I see His presence there at the depth of despair, anguish and pain? Could I find Him in the darkness and in the very presence of the enemy of my soul? David said he could. David knew that no matter where he went, even into the pit of hell, God’s presence would be with him. I am not sure I fully even grasp this concept but the realization I had today made me ponder this thought that no matter where I go He is there.

“If I take the wings of the morning,
         And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
Even there Your hand shall lead me,
         And Your right hand shall hold me.”

David reminds me that even in the midst of this crazy life, God has me by the hand, leading, guiding and holding me.  Parking lots are those crazy places where you hope people are paying attention, but not everyone can see a small child taking off from the car door across the lot into the store, so to insure my child’s safety they are required to hold my hand as I chart the way through parked and moving vehicles.  God holds my hand, requiring me to hang on while He charts my course through the dark waters and stormy nights. While I hang on He makes way for me to cross.

“If I say, ‘Surely the darkness shall fall on me,
         Even the night shall be light about me;
Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,
         But the night shines as the day;
         The darkness and the light are both alike to You.’”

Darkness fell~ it was daylight, sunshine and blue skies one minute and the next a cloak of black covered my sight.  It was like a power outage, one minute in the light the next in the dark. No time for my eyes to adjust to the change in the light, just a sudden change into the blackness of the night. The pain, anguish and hurt that came with it wanted to consume my heart. But God saw through the darkness and He sat with me in that desperate place.  Helping me to see what He saw, helping me to regain my focus, adjust my eyesight and look through new eyes that allowed what would be one of the most desolate seasons of my heart to be a time of fresh trust and renewed hope. 

No matter where I am, He is there. No matter what I am going through, HE is there.  I can’t out run, hide or escape His presence. The blackness of night can not stop the light of who He is. That brings me hope, help and comfort when the night unfolds and the darkness begins to creep in on me. He is there! 

Scriptures from Psalm 139

