Super Hero –

Faster than a speeding bullet! More powerful than a locomotive! Able to leap tall buildings at a single bound! “Look up in the sky! It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s Superman!”

I love Superman; the man of steel can do it all and still have good hair at the end of the day.  His ability to change from Clark Kent, your average everyday Joe and mild-mannered reporter,  to the man of steel and Metropolis’s hero  in a phone booth at a moment’s notice puts dreams and aspirations in my heart for the same transformation.  The Superman Syndrome we have as a society tells us we can beat the bad guy, write the Headline news, romance our sweetheart, come to the aid of every cry for help and still look like a supermodel when the sun rises again the next day – forget the sleep deprivation, you don’t need sleep as Superman!

I had a meltdown the other day – Suddenly, my superhuman strength was zapped with one blast of Kryptonite and I was down for the count.  Unable to overcome my emotions, I couldn’t get to the phone booth to make a quick change into my superman gear; I was a puddle on the floor.

 I was trying to install our financial software on my newly overhauled computer only for it to tell me that the data was damaged and unrecoverable.  It was the last straw on a pile of emotions, disappointments and hurts.  I could not be superhuman for one more minute so I retreated to my room and had a good cry.  I let all of my humanity out before the Lord and cried for a good 30 minutes.  Every toxic thought, emotion and mindset came pouring out during that time.  The amazing thing was God let me pour it all out without challenging me, correcting me or making me feel distant from Him.  I knew in my heart of hearts He was listening to my cries and delighting in my frailty.  He loved me in spite of myself and helped me to see this frail little creature was exactly who He came to love, die for and live through.  It was a humbling, awe inspiring moment for me.  To realize the God of the universe was delighting in my tears, not laughing at me but cherishing the realization of my need for Him and how I recognized my humanity. 

Suddenly, my ability to be Superman (woman/mom/wife/etc.) dissolved on my bathroom floor and the Real SuperMan emerged! As I poured out my heart, I began to ask the Creator of the universe, the Savior of the whole world to invade my life.  I knew in that moment of time He was all I needed and He alone had the words of life. (John 6:68-69, “But Simon Peter answered Him, ‘Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. Also we have come to believe and know that You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.’”)

Once everything had been left on my bathroom floor and at the feet of Jesus, He lifted me up, comforted my heart and began to give me step by step insight and instructions on how to tackle the trials of the day.  By the end of the day He enabled me to recover our finances, restore the missing programs on my computer and ultimately had “saved the day”.

Superman is still my favorite super hero, he is a shadow of my Real SuperMan –

  • Faster than a speeding bullet, hearing my cry for help and in less time than it takes to breathe sending me His Holy Spirit to give peace and hope (John 16: 13 – 15 -However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come. He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you. All things that the Father has are Mine. Therefore I said that He will take of Mine and declare it to you.)
  • More powerful than a locomotive – power in its grandest form – resurrection power living inside of me renewing my life with His ( Eph 3:20 -Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us.)
  • Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound – coming to my rescue no matter where I am, fighting off the enemy, snuggling with a child or in a puddle on my bathroom floor, Nothing can keep Him from me – (Romans 8:38 –  For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.)

I am forever grateful for my humanity for it is in my weakness that He is made strong!

