What can I do to advance the cause? What can I do to bring about the victory? What sacrifice can I make or what risk can I take to ensure the joy of triumph?

These questions have been stirring in my spirit as I have witnessed the struggles and battles many people around me are facing. The statement that we are only as strong as our weakest link hits home at times like theses. No man left behind – yet in our society so many of us are pressing ahead forgetting those that are behind, leaving them behind enemy lines to fight battles they don’t have the support or resources to win.

What part can I play in equipping them for the battle ahead? What role do I have in linking up with others to rescue our fellow brethren from the grasp of the enemy? What do I hold in my hand that will help them gain a victory in their battle? Am I holding a key to their victory? An encouraging word, a battle cry, a weapon of faith, maybe just time away from the battle to gain perspective and insight to fight another day. I am holding something that God would have me use for His people. After all, I was the one on the other side of enemy lines, fighting to live another day. I too have seen the enemy of my soul try to take me down and destroy my family.

In the midst of the fight a glimmer of light would shine though. A note, a smile, a phone call, a gift card or lunch out, an offer for childcare, a prayer prayed in faith, a hug and most of all a glimpse of their faith in God expressed to me in acts of love.

I too have fought the fight wondering if I had incurred the wrath of God, wanting to die rather than displease my Father, coming to terms with the fact that this was not His judgment but a bump in my road of life, an ambush of the enemy, and an opportunity for me to trust Him and trust His people in a whole new way. I too have been comforted and now I turn to comfort those in need.

 2 Corinthian 1:3-7 (NLT) says, “All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort. He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us. For the more we suffer for Christ, the more God will shower us with his comfort through Christ. Even when we are weighed down with troubles, it is for your comfort and salvation! For when we ourselves are comforted, we will certainly comfort you. Then you can patiently endure the same things we suffer. We are confident that as you share in our sufferings, you will also share in the comfort God gives us.”

“Father, open my eyes to see the people you would have me comfort with the same comfort you offered to me. Help me to be Your hands and feet here, today.”

