The Gift of Friends

I recently had a chat with a friend, she laughed as she mentioned the need to be flexible; late nights with young adults who need to talk and getting on the ground with a baby who wants to play, chick flicks with the girls and wrestling matches with the boys. In that one moment I thought, ‘she gets me!!’ Her children, 4 girls, 3 boys, range from 22 to 5 years; mine, 3 girls and 3 boys, range from 20 (next month) to 14 …months. My life spans across every educational line from college to pre-school. Parenting many is like the Texas weather, unpredictable and ever changing.

I have friends who are empty nesters; I have friends who are having their first babies. My friends come as singles, marrieds, single-agains, with children, without children, working moms, SAHMs, business professionals, statesmen, ministers and students. I love the many friends God has placed in my life, but sometimes I realize that those friends just don’t get my life. While some may be able to be at every baseball game, attend every karate class, make every equip class at church or dive deep into a ladies’ Bible study. Others are busy making their way in the corporate world, challenging the political establishment, or leading world changing organizations and ministries. Me, I am at home trying to listen to the hearts of young adults as they learn to fly while changing a poopy diaper, staying up late waiting for older ones to return home while knowing I will be getting up early with a young one and then hoping a nap will be on the next day’s agenda.

I love my life!! I am not trying to be someone else or even envy those who are placing their mark on this world. However, sometimes it would be nice to just have someone who understands. After this conversation, I realized she did!! Funny thing was I was with her when she had her last. I was there when she was laid up in bed for months, when she had her precious miracle and was privilege to hold him in my arms. I was there when she was the one hoping for naps and helping daughters launch into the world. And yet, I was one of the ones who just didn’t get it. But now, I do! And with this precious understanding comes a friend who gets me!!

Sometimes it is hard to find our place in the world, it is difficult to be all things to all people and we will kill ourselves if we try. I realize this is just a season, it is just a moment in time and in the next few years I will have daughters moving out, boys heading to college and a young girl ready to share late night stories and discover who she is in this great big world. It will be during those times when I can once again attend every baseball game, launch out in business or ministry, shape the political culture, or just enjoy a moment of quiet. Proverbs 31 is a beautiful picture of the many things a woman can become!! It is a beautiful reminder that God has created us without limits and we can run a business, lead others, honor our husbands and raise a family. It is a lifetime of living, not a day in the life of. And this one truth sets me free embrace today and just be!!

No matter what season you are in, there is someone who ‘gets you’! The God who created you and created the seasons you walk through knows right where you are. He sees the dirty dishes, the baby who needs a bath, the sticky hands that prevent you from wearing white until all fingers are no longer clinging to your legs, the sleepless nights and the laundry filled days. He ‘gets’ the feelings of loneliness, the cry of the heart for divine purpose and the fear that you are forgotten. He understands the issues of our female hearts, he created them, he fills them and he loves them. He understands our frustrations when dreams are placed on hold or the longing to have ‘Calgon’ take us away. Not only does He understand, He has a plan.

Jeremiah 29:10 – 14 (v 10 Tomi paraphrase)This is God’s Word on the subject: “As soon as ‘this season of Tomi’s’ is up and not a day before, I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you into a new season. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I’ll listen. When you come looking for me, you’ll find me. Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed.” God’s Decree.

You have a place in this world and there is Someone who understands. Whisper a simple prayer and ask Him to be with you today, receive His peace and then look for that friend who maybe once upon a time you didn’t get, but now gets you. She is your gift from Him today! If you have been there, then remember to be that friend to someone else, they might just need a reminder that you were once there as well and God didn’t forget where you were!! And to my sweet friend, “THANK YOU!!”

One thought on “The Gift of Friends

Leave a Reply

